Fishermen, Conservationists Go to Court Over Outlaw Dam

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 10, 2020   CONTACT: Jim McCarthy, WaterWatch of Oregon, 541-708-0048, jim@waterwatch.org   Fishermen, Conservationists Go to Court Over Outlaw Dam Dilapidated, high-hazard Winchester Dam is harming fish, water quality, and livelihoods   Court filing available here. Winchester Dam fact sheet available here.   Roseburg ¬– Steamboaters, WaterWatch of Oregon, and the Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermens’ …

Deschutes River Conservation Plan Fails to Restore River, Fish, Frogs

For Immediate Release, November 5, 2020 Contact: Tod Heisler, Central Oregon Land Watch, (510) 480-2388, tod@colw.org Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 484-7495, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org Kimberley Priestley, WaterWatch of Oregon, kjp@waterwatch.org Deschutes River Conservation Plan Fails to Restore River, Fish, Frogs Federal Plan Preserves Unsustainable Flows, Water Waste for Decades BEND, Ore.— A final habitat conservation plan and environmental impact …

WaterWatch and Conservation Groups Aim to Protect Water for Salmon and Steelhead in Willamette River

Press Release For more information, contact: Brian Posewitz, 503-295-4039 x 2, brian@waterwatch.org Marlies Wierenga, 503-278-0669, mwierenga@wildearthguardians.org Andrew Missel, 503-914-6388, amissel@advocateswest.org Jonah Sandford, 503-768-6726, jonah@nedc.org Conservation Groups Look to Protect Water for Salmon and Steelhead in Willamette River as Lawsuit Seeks Pause in Water Allocation Plan Portland, Oregon – Conservation groups filed suit in federal court Thursday to protect imperiled spring …

Columbia River Treaty Negotiating Team out of step with Northwest Values Sept 6 in Portland: Northwest residents encouraged to speak with U.S. State Department at Town Hall meeting on future of the Columbia River and Treaty

News Release Contact: Greg Haller greg@pacificrivers.org (208) 790-4105 (Pacific Rivers) Joseph Bogaard joseph@wildsalmon.org (206) 286-4455 (Save Our Wild Salmon/SOS) Trish Rolfe ­trolfe@celp.org (206) 829-8299 (Center for Environmental Law & Policy/CELP) John Osborn MD ­ john@waterplanet.ws (509) 939-1290 (Sierra Club) Letter to State Department: <http://www.waterplanet.ws/pdf/Letter_to_State_Dept_083118.pdf> A broad coalition of conservation, sports, and fishing organizations today delivered a letter to the State …

Judge: Feds “Cherry-Picked Legal Interpretations” to Favor Agribusiness Over Waterfowl on Klamath Basin Refuges U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service ordered to release documents acknowledging law allows removal of harmful commercial agribusiness from refuge lands

For Immediate Release April 9, 2018 Contacts: Jim McCarthy, WaterWatch of Oregon, 541-708-0731 Bob Sallinger, Audubon Society of Portland, 503-380-9728 Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, 503-283-6343 Maura Fahey, Crag Law Center, 503-525-2722 Medford, OR – A U.S. Magistrate Judge has issued a ruling ordering the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) to release key portions of a heavily-redacted planning document showing …

Klamath Advocates Condemn Bureau of Reclamations Willful Destruction of the Everglades of the West

For Immediate Release March 26, 2018 Contacts: Jim McCarthy, WaterWatch of Oregon, (541) 708-0731 Bob Sallinger, Audubon Society of Portland, (503) 380-9728 Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, (503) 283-6342 Conservationists Call on Gov. Kate Brown, Senators Wyden and Merkley to Stop Likely Catastrophic Waterfowl Die-Off, Hold Bureau Accountable for Longstanding Waste and Abuse Today three conservation groups, Audubon Society of Portland, …