River Advocates Await Ruling on Botched Winchester Dam Repair

MEDIA ADVISORY: December 9, 2020 CONTACT: Jim McCarthy, WaterWatch of Oregon, 541-708-0048, jim@waterwatch.org River Advocates Await Ruling on Botched Winchester Dam Repair 2018 Incident on North Umpqua River Killed Fish, Polluted Drinking Water for 37,700 People DEQ’s January 2020 Notice of Civil Penalty to Basco Logging: https://bit.ly/3lTYVb8 Agency Documents and Photos Regarding 2018 Pollution Spill: https://bit.ly/3oAUWBV Advocates’ August 2020 Letter …

Fishermen, Conservationists Score Another Win Against Outlaw Dam

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 2, 2020 CONTACT: Jim McCarthy, WaterWatch of Oregon, 541-708-0048, jim@waterwatch.org Fishermen, Conservationists Score Another Win Against Outlaw Dam High-hazard Winchester Dam to Comply with Public Safety Regulations for First Time in Decades River Advocates’ October 2020 Letter Regarding Winchester Dam Safety: https://bit.ly/2VvTwfo Winchester Dam’s October 2019 State Safety Inspection Letter: https://bit.ly/3g4tedU Winchester Dam’s Current Emergency Action …

Fishermen, Conservationists Go to Court Over Outlaw Dam

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 10, 2020   CONTACT: Jim McCarthy, WaterWatch of Oregon, 541-708-0048, jim@waterwatch.org   Fishermen, Conservationists Go to Court Over Outlaw Dam Dilapidated, high-hazard Winchester Dam is harming fish, water quality, and livelihoods   Court filing available here. Winchester Dam fact sheet available here.   Roseburg ¬– Steamboaters, WaterWatch of Oregon, and the Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermens’ …

Deschutes River Conservation Plan Fails to Restore River, Fish, Frogs

For Immediate Release, November 5, 2020 Contact: Tod Heisler, Central Oregon Land Watch, (510) 480-2388, tod@colw.org Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 484-7495, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org Kimberley Priestley, WaterWatch of Oregon, kjp@waterwatch.org Deschutes River Conservation Plan Fails to Restore River, Fish, Frogs Federal Plan Preserves Unsustainable Flows, Water Waste for Decades BEND, Ore.— A final habitat conservation plan and environmental impact …

WaterWatch and Conservation Groups Aim to Protect Water for Salmon and Steelhead in Willamette River

Press Release For more information, contact: Brian Posewitz, 503-295-4039 x 2, brian@waterwatch.org Marlies Wierenga, 503-278-0669, mwierenga@wildearthguardians.org Andrew Missel, 503-914-6388, amissel@advocateswest.org Jonah Sandford, 503-768-6726, jonah@nedc.org Conservation Groups Look to Protect Water for Salmon and Steelhead in Willamette River as Lawsuit Seeks Pause in Water Allocation Plan Portland, Oregon – Conservation groups filed suit in federal court Thursday to protect imperiled spring …

Columbia River Treaty Negotiating Team out of step with Northwest Values Sept 6 in Portland: Northwest residents encouraged to speak with U.S. State Department at Town Hall meeting on future of the Columbia River and Treaty

News Release Contact: Greg Haller greg@pacificrivers.org (208) 790-4105 (Pacific Rivers) Joseph Bogaard joseph@wildsalmon.org (206) 286-4455 (Save Our Wild Salmon/SOS) Trish Rolfe ­trolfe@celp.org (206) 829-8299 (Center for Environmental Law & Policy/CELP) John Osborn MD ­ john@waterplanet.ws (509) 939-1290 (Sierra Club) Letter to State Department: <http://www.waterplanet.ws/pdf/Letter_to_State_Dept_083118.pdf> A broad coalition of conservation, sports, and fishing organizations today delivered a letter to the State …